Are you a drinker? Do you smoke pot or snort cocaine? Do you shoot up heroin? If you answered yes to any of these three questions, then you need to know exactly what you stand to lose if you are caught driving under the influence.
If you are a drinker and it is time to party, it is basic that you get a designated driver. You certainly do not want to risk the chances of getting into an accident and possibly killing yourself or another innocent victim. Alcohol, pot and cocaine all impair your judgment, so it is basic to plan now before it is too late.
DUI penalties are increasing, already for those who are first time offenders. Organizations like M.A.D.D. have stepped up in educating the public and are pleading that lawmakers increase DUI offenses. The level of blood alcohol concentration is now .08% in all states.
What could happen if you are caught with a V.A.C. of more that .08%? Although the laws vary from state to state, you could find yourself in jail, lose you license or be asked to perform some kind of community service. In addition, you will have to pay a hefty fine for your DUI offense.
If your DUI occurred in a state that takes away your driving privilege, you will first of all have to pay a hefty fine in addition to the fines you have already had to pay. Also, in order to get your license back, you will have to participate in an alcohol education course.
Now that you are ready to get your license back, you must offer proof that you are insured. However, due to your DUI offense, you insurance company may drop you from their policy. You can probably find another insurance carrier to cover you, but you will probably have to pay by the nose to get coverage. consequently, higher premiums are charged for those people who have DUI convictions on their record. It would be far better to have a designated driver and avoid the DUI at all costs.
In some states, like Georgia and Michigan, consumers discover that their insurance carrier depreciates their vehicles so that these people have to pay more than usual for car repairs.
The state of the auto insurance industry is regularly changing. It responds to the ebbs and flows of the financial markets, health care and federal and state legislation. In order to guard against any policy “surprises” in the future, it is important that consumers stay on top of the game about issues that could affect their car insurance policies.
One last reflection. Will a minor who is in possession of alcohol be affected by car insurance rates? The answer to that question is most definitely. Not to put the fear of the Lord in you, but it may greatly minimize your chances of being sold a car insurance policy until you are 26 years of age! You will have to buy your car insurance by AIG or Progressive who have built their businesses by coverage for high risk drivers.
Some say that this is completely overblown. Basically, it elevates the risk level of a driver in much the same way as an insurance lapse or an accident. If you are a young person who has been a low risk driver and have been driving free of accidents for some time, you will only be looking at an increase of about $100 on your car insurance policy for a first time DUI offender.